Running News

Lawson Noyes (24:52) of Mebane was first 70+ at 11th Run for Young 5K in Raleigh (146 finishers, down from 211 last year. WT was 17:00.

Lauren Wagner (5:10:25) of Carrboro was second 20-29 at Salem Lakeshore Frosty Fifty 50K trail run (128 finishers) in Winston-Salem. WT was 4:12:16.

Matthew Robinson (16:34) was first and Joshua Sutter­field (17:11) of Chapel Hill second at Fourth Festivus 5K Fun Run in Durham (73 finishers).

Jeffrey Barger (34:59) of Hillsborough was second 50-54 at Fill the Sleigh 5K in Gibsonville (70 finishers). WT was 25:30.

Samantha Polak (5:24:10) of Pittsboro was third woman overall at King of Mountain 50K at Kings Mountain SP (65 finishers). WT was 5:00:49.

Susan Shulz (1:06:31) of Chapel Hill was second 65-69 and Kenneth Shulz (52”49) second 70+ at Mill Chill 4 Miler in Rocky Mount (367 finishers). WTs were 21:08 and 23:56.

Anthony Corriveau (33:32) of Cary was the winner at Couch Mountain 5 Miler in Durham (42 finishers), third race in Godiva Winter Series. First female was Becky Trumbull (42:58) of Durham.

Spencer Husen (17:37) of Hillsborough was the men’s winner at Reindeer Romp 5K in Raleigh (104 finishers, 1237 registered for comp and rec divisions). No hometowns listed for award winners.

Martin Maloney (21:44) of Chapel Hill was third 20-29 and Martha Hamblin (34:18) of Mebane second 60+ at NCBA Ugly Sweater 5K in Raleigh (147 finishers). WTs were 16:37 and 19:31.

Cindy Webster (6092 points) of Chapel Hill was first 50-54 and seventh woman overall at 2017 Second Empire Grand Prix Series. She was the only local award winner. The 2018 series (15 races) begins Feb. 3 with Souper 5K in Coats and runs through December.


Entry deadline for USATF SE Masters Indoor Cham­pionship Jan. 21 at 10 a.m. at JDL Fast Track, Winston-Salem, is 1/17 at

The USAA Grand Prix Series at Camp Lejeune starts Feb. 10 with X-treme 12K Trail Endurance Challenge in Jack­son­ville and has seven events. Remember, runners need a base pass to get on a military post and pass deadline is 17 days before event.

The Third Durham 13.1 HM/10K/5K was cancelled Dec. 9 due to “hazardous weather conditions.” Also cancelled was Ugly Sweater 5K Fun Run in Greensboro.

Asheville New Year’s Day 5K/10Miler were cancelled by icy roads.

The April 7 Umstead 100 Endurance Run in Raleigh is closed out.