Stars, Hunters Claim Cricket League Honors

The Triangle Cricket League completed a COVID-shortened 2020 season with four championship tournaments featuring the top four teams from each division in the Premier League (40-over) and the T20 League (20-over).

In Division 1 of the T20 League, the fourth and fifth teams tied in points during the regular season, so these teams had a play-in match to qualify for the tournament.

Premier League Division 1 Semi-Final 1 (PL D1), #4 Eagles upset #1 Tigers by 28 runs; in fact, the underdogs won all four PL SF matches. In (PL D2) SF2, #3 Stars beat #2 Lions by 4 wickets.

PL D1 Final, Stars batted first and scored 174/9 in 40 overs; Eagles were all out for 164 runs.  Sameer Lodhi was Man of the Match (MOM).

PL D2 SF1 #1, Thunders batted first and were all out for 114; #4 Vikings scored 118/5 in 26.3 overs.  Govindarajan S. Soundarajan took 5 wickets for the Vikings and was awarded MOM. PL D2 SF2: #3 Hunters scored 213 all out, and #2 Raiders were all out for 180.

PL D2 Final, Hunters scored 262/6 in 40 overs, and then shut out the Vikings for 158 in 39.5 overs. Competition for MOM was fierce among the Hunters. Jalender Reddy Musku and Abhiram Bolisetty each batted for 97 runs, while Sai Kiran Nadella took 6 wickets bowling. Musku was MOM.

T20 D1 Play-in, Lions beat ANZACS by 22 runs.

T20 D1 SF1 #1, TCL Youth scored 151 all out and they held the Morrisville Lions to 137 all out. Abhiram Bolisetty took two crucial early wickets for no runs and also made 39 runs batting; he was chosen MOM.  T20 D1 SF2, #3 Royals beat #2 Stars by 3 runs. Sandeep Pilania scored 82 runs for the Roy­als and won MOM.

T20 D1 Final, Royals beat the Stars by 1 run, 116-115.  Zeeshan Khan of the Royals scored 23 runs and took 3 wickets, earning MOM honors.

T20 D2 SF1, #1 Raiders scored 152 and held the #4 Vikings to 149 runs for a 3-run victory.  Mujtaba Tarik batted for 69 for the Raiders and was chosen MOM.  T20 D2 SF2: #3 Dinamates (Avengers) scored 84/9 in their 20 overs, and #2 Eagles caught up for the loss of only one wicket. Mujtaba Tariq, the wicket-keeper for the Eagles, took 6 of the Dina­mates’ wickets, 3 caught, 2 stumped, and 1 run out. He was MOM.

The T20 Division 3 played with only 6 teams, so the championship tournament was a play-in game and a final with the top 3 teams.  T20 D3 Play-in, #2 Triangle Hawks were 66/4 and then scuttled out #3 Raging Bulls for 65 all out.  Bowler Anuj Tripathi for the Triangle Hawks took 5 wickets for 12 runs and was named MOM.

T20 D3 Final. #1 Kryptonians batted for 144/6 in their 20 overs and held the Triangle Hawks to 101/8.  Bushan Gunaghe made 23 runs and took 3 wickets for the Kryptonians and was named MOM.

CSN writer Ron Knight added,“We hope to see you in the Spring of 2021, and with good luck and a COVID-19 vaccine we pray for a full season once again.” CSN thanks Knight for another season of top level local cricket coverage.